top of page

What are Whole Grains?

Whole Grains such as corn, wheat, rice etc ie are the seeds of grass-like plants called cereals. Some seeds such as Quinoa, Buckwheat and Amaranth, though seeds of non-grass plants, or pseudocereals, are also considered WholeGrains.

Whole-grain kernels have three parts :

Bran : The Bran consists of the hard, outer shell and contains fiber, minerals, and antioxidants.

Endosperm : The middle layer of the grain contains vitamins, minerals, starchy carbohydrates and proteins.

Germ : This inner layer has vitamins, minerals, protein, healthy fats and plant compounds.

Refining a whole grain involves removing the bran and the germ, leaving only the endosperm leading to a loss of fiber, vitamins and minerals from between 25 % to 95%.

Some examples of whole grains are Wheat, Buckwheat, Unpolished Rice, Millets, Sorghum ( Jowar ) , Barley ( Jau ), Quinoa etc

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page